Home

cuppa
When I first turned up at university with my own cup and teabags, everyone thought I was mad. But student nurses will know we’re often required to be in lectures all day, five days a week, with just the cafe to get drinks from. If you drink three hot drinks a day and they cost £1.10 each, that’s £16.50 a week! If I did that each week for the first 9 weeks of this term, it would cost me £148.50. One hundred and forty eight fifty! So I started to find ways around this. My bag usually contains a cup and some decent teabags, and I pay 25p to the cafe for the hot water and milk*. That’s £3.75 a week. Saving: £12.75!
If you can carry heavier things than me- and believe me, I already carry a heavy bag full of books, laptop, snacks and occasionally a jumper- you can bring your own flask of hot water and milk caddy along too, and it won’t cost you anything at all!

*The cup was from Wilkinson’s and cost £5, I have another one from the university which cost £6 and may start a collection!).

One thought on “Tea Breaks: How much do you pay per week?

Leave a comment