Home

I have a lot of trouble firing up my brain in the morning, especially if I get caught in the trap of watching something ridiculous on the telly while I’m drinking my morning cup of tea. For all those who wake up feeling less ‘Stephen Hawking’ and more ‘Ralph Wiggum’, here are my tips:

1. Switch off the TV! This WILL rot your brain!

2. Do NOT log in to Facebook. This will make your time (and brain cells) disappear. Unless all your facebook friends are Fellows of the Royal Society.

3. Listen to Radio 4. Especially if it’s Jim Al-Khalili. I love listening to Women’s Hour because let’s face it, it’s more cerebral than Kiss FM.

4. Get angry. It’s good to get in a huff about something, for instance the dismal view the media takes of student nurses, or the number of people dying of infectious and parasitic disease…anything to get your brain switched on and ignite your belief in studying!

5. Do maths. I’m getting extra maths help through my Dean of Student’s office tohelp me with drug calculations. Do some multiplications and divisions first thing in the morning. Try dividing a prime number by 4 or 8. It makes you feel really brainy!

6. Don’t forget to eat and drink! Whatever gives you the most energy over the longest period.

Leave a comment